top of page

Byron Marshall - Director/Conductor

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
Choral Donation
Help the chorale continue its mission to bring great choral music to the Wlmington community!
PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
Scholarship Donation
This scholarship goes to a high school senior who expects to continue their vocal experience in college or university. You can help!
Byron pic.webp

Byron Marshall is a native of Franklin County, NC and is an alumnus of Louisburg College, and Cape Fear Community College with A.F.A. degrees in Music & Music Education, a B.A. degree in piano & choral music from The University of North Carolina Wilmington; and a Master of Music Education at the University of Florida. Some of Byron’s extensive resume includes work in the music department of Louisburg College as faculty accompanist from 2002-2009, and service as an Executive Board of Directors member of the Franklin County Art’s Council from 2000-2004.

Byron travels throughout North Carolina and performs for collegiate, civic, and social events as well as a clinician and accompanist for choral events and festivals for North Carolina Public School Systems which include: 26 consecutive years with the Franklin County Schools All County Chorus Festival and 11 years with Brunswick County Schools All County Chorus Festival.


He is the recipient of numerous academic and civic awards including “2004 Artist of the Year” award for service in the field of performing arts from the Franklin Co. Arts Council and several Distinguished Service awards from Louisburg College’s Department of Music. Byron is also an active adjudicator for various musical competition at local, state, and international levels.

Mr. Marshall is the Minister of Music and instructor for Ogden Baptist Church in Wilmington since 2006 and its Academy of Music which he founded in 2008 in addition to being the accompanist and substitute conductor for the Wilmington Choral Society from 2007-2019. Byron has also worked as Collaborative Pianist for Applied Voice, Choral & Faculty performances and classes at Cape Fear Community College from 2013-2020.


Byron holds active memberships with Music Teachers National Association and was appointed President of Cape Fear Music Teachers Association in July, 2020.

As an advocate for Music and Music Education, Mr. Marshall has founded music scholarship programs at Cape Fear Community College and The University of North Carolina Wilmington’s Community Music Academy; where, he also currently serves as an adjunct professor, Artistic Director & Business Manager for UNCW’s Department of Music and Community Music Academy.

Sheryl Tjon- Collaborative Pianist

staff and keyboard.png
sheryl photo.webp

Sheryl Tjon has been a collaborative pianist since high school. Throughout high school and college, she accompanied singers, choirs, and instrumentalists in private lessons, recitals, opera workshops, and concerts. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Music from Minnesota State University Moorhead, which included a year at Stony Brook University (SUNY) on the National Student Exchange Program and studying piano for a semester in Sweden. She also holds a Master of Arts in Theological Studies and Master of Divinity degrees from the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary, Springfield, Missouri.


Ms. Tjon has a private piano studio, Sempre Piano Studio, in Jacksonville, North Carolina. Her piano studio has traveled with her in past moves to Mannheim, Germany, Norfolk, Virginia, and Camp Lejuene, North Carolina. She continues to collaborate regularly with local choirs and singers in concerts, festivals, and recitals. She is the former organist, pianist, and choir director at St. Anne’s Episcopal Church in Jacksonville. Ms. Tjon is the Executive Secretary of the North Carolina Music Teachers Association (NCMTA), and a member of the Cape Fear Music Teachers Association. Follow her on FB and Instagram @semprepianostudio. 

bottom of page